Why Worry? It’s Only Life.

Dear Blog,

I stared at the X-rays displayed on the computer screen. My heart skipped a beat.

Is that really what I look like?

The picture presented my back…hunched, crooked, curved; it resembled a heart born into the depravity of the world’s sin nature. The similarity was that both needed healing, but in different ways.

My back, Doctor Hart explained, would have to undergo a physical healing. A brace would have to force my spine into it’s correct position: straight, tall, level.

But, I thought, isn’t there another way?

Physical problems have a tendency to cause spiritual problems. We get mad at physical trials and then turn to our spiritual life and get mad at God for our physical trouble.

It’s a normal reaction because it’s life.

Life, it’s a hassle. It’s a pain in the rear. Life has a habit of hurling problems into the heart of your soul, where it will be the most felt, where Satan could cause the most pain.

He is our enemy. If we are searching for God’s truth passionately we are his largest target. He’s at the wheel and we are the chickens on the road. It will be hard to avoid the tire.

God promises that our life will be hard. In fact, He tells us that it is essential for the Christian walk. “Whoever does not carry their cross and follow me cannot be my disciple,” (Luke 14:27). We need to be prepared for roughness in all areas of life, and we need to bare them with patience and worship.

Worship? Worship God for our troubles? Yes, because this is the way He heals our spiritual wounds. When we let go of our grief, depression, and strife, then turn around and give Him worship our souls are put to rest.

We have all heard the story of Job. How he was inflicted with all kinds of tribulations, but instead of cursing God he cried, “blessed be your name[!],” (Job 1:21).

If we accept the easy things in life, than shouldn’t we also accept difficulties? Not only accept but worship and thank God for them? If we worship God and get rest, when we thank Him we’ll get more then rest…we’ll get joy!

God revealed something to me a couple of weeks past. I was astounded, and so was my mom when I offered thanks in a prayer for my back problems and my disappointments. I hadn’t offered thanks for them in the attitude of Job, but rather with the same outlook of James. “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know the testing of your faith produces perseverance,” (James 2-3).

Can you imagine! God loves us so much that even if we are living in pure trial and trouble, then we are still reaping blessing! 

“God,” I had prayed. “Thank you for the tribulations every day brings us. Thank you for the assurance that we can know that even through the rough and hard times, everything that You do is for our good and for your glory.”

What a thing to keep in mind! The knowledge that anything, anywhere, anytime, no matter how terrible, God is working it out for His glory and OUR good!

In that doctor office that day my mom held my hand, and looking into my dark green eyes searched them. Her lips formed a single question. I read them, and listened to the sound of her words.

How are you doing? I looked back at her, fully aware of how hard the next year would be. I replied intending to be funny, but it came out soothing to my mother. A lullaby to her worry. I can’t really argue with the only One who knows what’s best for me.

It has been about six months from that day, I’ve had my brace on every day for half of that. I’ve had to wear it standing, sitting, sleeping, moving bricks, weeding, baking, cooking, cleaning, riding a bike, playing basket-ball, and playing my fiddle. I’ve had the opportunity to question God, and turn my back (no pun intended =] ) on the sentence that held me from the gates of grief, sorrow, and depression in the office of Dr. Hart. But I haven’t. And, I pray I never will. 

Now I have a new outlook on life. I know that it is filled with strife and sorrow, complications and confusion, hurt and pain, but knowing that God is blessing me through every part of my life as long as I keep Him as my focus I can shrug my shoulders and say…Why worry? It’s only life.

In Christ Alone~EleyanaFaith

 

HE IS WORTHY TO BE PRAISED

HE IS WORTHY TO BE PRAISED

 

5 thoughts on “Why Worry? It’s Only Life.

  1. Sierra says:

    Can i just say you are amazing, and such a beautiful person.
    Love,
    Sierra

  2. Air1Lyssa says:

    If only we all could realize the fact that we are all so imperfect. Thank you so much, God has given you many gifts and you use them in such a God-glorifying way!
    Yours,
    Alyssa

  3. Adam Reeve says:

    Hello Eleyana! I do not have any idea what country you’re in, or even how old you are, as you don’t seem to have an ‘About Me’ page to this blog, but I happened to stumble on your site whilst searching for the lyrics of a certain poem. I merely wish to encourage you and let you know that whoever you are and wherever you are, our God can do ANYTHING with ANYTHING!

    Your writing is a blessing to countless people around the globe. Sometimes God’s allows us to be ill for a purpose. Sometimes people are not whole for a reason, and often we don’t know the answers. But the Lord knows… and it’s Him in whom we place our trust.

    I’m going to read the rest of your blog when I get time after work. But I felt led to lift you up before the Lord and tell you, you’ve bought a smile to my face today. I’m in New Zealand at a place called Christchurch and it’s raining cats, dogs, puppies and kittens outside! Hehehe!

    I love how you sign each of your posts ‘In Christ alone’. That’s so beautiful, because as the song says… In Christ alone my hope is found. He is my light, my strength, my song; this Cornerstone, this solid Ground…”

    May God continue to bless you, protect you and surround you with His bountiful love as you continue to serve Him with your life.

    In the peace of Christ,

    Adam Reeve 🙂

    • eleyanafaith says:

      Thank you so much Mr. Reeve!! Your comment was such a blessing to me!! I have not been on my blog for a while and logging on after such a long absence to your comment has encouraged me so very much. Plus, it was a little thrilling to have someone from New Zealand post on my blog (I am in California, America) =] I hope you had the chance to read a couple of my other posts. As to this one which you commented on, it has been a year since I wrote it and that trial has now passed, praise the Lord!! New ones are facing me, as is to be expected. The LORD is FOREVER GOOD, and is guiding me in these also. Praise His Holy Name!!

      Thank you once more for your encouraging comment. May God bless you and keep you, and make His face to shine upon you with all spiritual blessing!!

      In Christ Alone~EleyanaFaith

      P.S. About my signature, it is about that Hymn. It happens to be my favorite song because of its amazing gospel message!! How true it is!! “Here in the love of Christ, I’ll stand”!!!

Leave a Reply

