For-Ordained to Miss a Train

By thirty seconds we missed it.

My mom was on the platform when she found out….she watched it drive out of sight.

I was still downstars, underground, carrying all my luggage when a staff member told me the bad news.

“Ma-am, the train is already gone.”

My heart skipped a beat.

Gone? GONE? We missed it? But, but, but…….

I climbed up the steps, my heart still ponding from running the half a mile it took to miss a train. My mom was up there too, and my sister and brother, all out of breath and sad.

“Is it true? Is it gone?”

“Yes,” my mom replied. “I watched it drive away.”

We stood there not knowing what to do.

Ever since the begining of summer this had been planned. My brother and I were going to go to my grandparents house on the train, but now it was too late….we missed it by thirty seconds.

We found a bench and sat down. My mom couldn’t stop saying, “I’m sorry. I’m sorry.” And we would reply, “It’s okay. It isn’t your fault.”

Then it happened….the weirdest thing…..I smiled.

I wasn’t sad and depressed like most people would think I should have been. I was smiling. Smiling because I knew all of this was a part of God’s almight plan.

Then she said it. Sweet little Mikayla.

“This sucks.”

I smiled down at her and said, “No it doesn’t, because this is God’s plan. He forordained this to happen.”

My mom called my grandma. She arranged   a different plan. We couldn’t go on the train after all. We would have to drive down.

We turned away from the train tracks and walked down the stairs. We walked through the station and all the way back to the car. All the while I had a smile across my face, because God choose that moment to impress upon my heart His sovereignty, and I was able to praise Him for that.

In the car my mom prayed, “Lord, we don’t know why you had this happen but we are told to thank you for everything. So, we thank you for this.”

In my heart all day long I was thanking Him. Thanking Him, and praising Him.

 

Dear Lord, a lot of things happen in our daily lifes that we don’t like. We don’t know why they happen, but for some reason you alow them to happen. God, we don’t want to fight you, so please help us excpet the tribulations that you give us. Alow us to see that your plans are so very much better then our plans. Reveal to us your sovereignty. Thank you that we have assurence in knowing that you have for-ordained every day in our lifes, and that you are in control of everything that happens to us. And Lord, thank you for leading me to you. Thank you, for being a gracious and kind, long-suffering and slow to anger, abounding in love. You are the only God worth serving. I love you so very much.

In Christ Alone~EleyanaFaith

Leave a Reply

