My God

Just recently I was asked whether I believed in God. The speaker wasn’t asking if I specifically believed in the God of the Bible, the triune God…Yahweh, but I answered yes and told him who it was I believed in and why…

Having been brought up in a Christian home I have had a fundamental understanding of the gospel and how it applies to me from as far back as I can remember. Some of the more complicated facets of my Christian beliefs have been further developed from my youth, but the basics of my worldview have stayed the same:

I recognize that God is the creator and sustainer of life, and that because of this He has the right of supreme ruler and can judge us according to His law.

I confess that I have fallen short of His decrees, and because of the sin in my life I deserve nothing but His righteous judgment.

BUT, because of His great love, God chose to redeem me and sent His Son to receive the penalty for my sin. Because of this I can now have a relationship with my Lord and Savior, whereas before my sin would not allow me to be in His presence.

This is MY gospel story. The moment where all the above became clear to me and the Spirit of God no longer was upon me, but within me.
It started when I was eight.

I remember sitting on my father’s lap, sobbing. God had chosen to finally reveal Himself to me and the feeling was unforgettable.

In a single moment I recognized my sin as never before, a deep cutting scar that denied any possibility of my innocence. I was stained with a blemish that could not be removed by any endeavor of my own. God had opened my eyes to the reality that I was fallen and in desperate need of a savior.

Then, the most amazing thing happened. In the middle of what seemed like an utter defeat I felt the presence of God overwhelm me. I felt what I can only describe as a burst of energy erupting throughout my entire body as God embraced me, covering me with His mercy and forgiveness. Here He was, God of the universe, embracing a filthy sinner and calling her daughter. The only thing humanly possible for me to do at that moment was weep. So, I wept.

Naturally my family was taken aback by this sudden outbreak. We had been having family devotions at the time so my parents excused my siblings and then my father walked over to where I was sitting, picked me up, and placed me in his lap. “What’s going on?” he asked, and the only way I could respond was “God loves me so much. He just loves me SO much.
I was eight years old.

Eight years old when I recognized that God had chosen to pluck me out of Hell and place me in His hand.

Eight years old when I finally understood that my life does not belong to me, that it was bought with a price – it belonged to Christ.

Eight years old when God adopted me as His daughter and I became a Child of the Living God.

It still astounds me even today that the Creator of the Universe choose to reveal Himself to me. Furthermore, I cannot comprehend why in the world He would want to have a relationship with me!!

Since I was eight, though, until now and for the rest of my life I have had and will have the most unfathomable relationship with my Heavenly Father. So when asked if there is a God my response is simply, “I cannot deny the existence of God because I know Him.” I personally know Yahweh and believe me, He is real.

 

In Christ Alone~EleyanaFaith

One thought on “My God

  1. jdbackman says:

    I realise what you are thinking I have been going through the same question of why me?

Leave a Reply

