No Love Story Compares

I watched Pride and Prejudice again today.

I’m a little ashamed to say it’s my favorite movie and I’ve watched it too many times to remember, too many times to count. I still remember the first time I watched it, how I melted when Mr. Darcy looks at Elizabeth as he confesses his love to her (for the second time) in that sunrise-meadow. And how my heart turns when Elizabeth steps forward in her answer to his request for her hand, and she takes his and they hold each other. Those same feelings, from the first time I saw it, return every time. It hasn’t gotten old yet.

I, like any young girl, have all the whimsical romances of a heart yet to love. I hold onto the dream of someday marrying my own version of Mr. Darcy with eager expectation. (Though I hope he looks a little more like Jim Elliot, Keith Green, and the apostle Paul.) This is a very strong desire rooted deeply in my heart. It’s right there next to serving on the mission-field. The two are kinda tied together in this crazy hope to maybe meet someone as passionate as I am about over seas evangelism.

However, as amazing and Christ-like as that sounds, I have to admit that both of these desires, especially the love one, have become temptations in my life. They have distracted me from keeping a Jesus focused heart.

Like now, I’m up late tonight – the rest of the house has settled down for sleep – and I find myself searching a beloved christian blog for posts about holy love. And as I begin to read about what Godly marriages are like I feel so unsatisfied. It’s almost like God is calling out to me, asking me to put that down and pick up the Word. He is my true Husband and He has written me a love letter. He calls out softly, like this intimate whisper, asking me to put away the blog and pick up my Bible.

So, I do.

I find Ephesians 2 and revel in it. What love story compares to this? 

“…BUT GOD, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christby grace you have been saved – and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast. For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.” (v. 4-10)

He loves us with great love.

And we are His workmanship, His poema. That Greek word where we get our word poem.

That means so much to me, this childish thought that my Jesus, my God writes poetry… out of me! I am His poem!

There are those little treasures in scripture which God, my Father, my Husband, leaves for me to unearth. The little treasures buried in a field of immeasurable riches

There are other scriptures like Ephesians 2 that make my heart turn. Scriptures like Psalm 100. Scriptures like Romans 8. That make me pause in an awestruck moment and ask Him in a passionate wonder of love, How could You? How could You love me so much? 

And the simple return is, “I just do.”

“There is in the higher type of love a supernatural element that cannot and does not attempt to give reasons for its existence. It says not “I love because”; it only whispers “I love.” Perfect love knows no because.” ~ A.W.Tozer 

We are His workmanship, His bride, created for Him. Created for this crazy, unexplainable, unpredictable love.

Love where He gave His lifeto give me mine.

Love where He came downto raise me up.

Love where He gave everythingto give me everything.

Mr. Darcy doesn’t hold a candle to that. Neither does Jim Elliot, Keith Green, or even the apostle Paul. Not my future husband, and not any man.

Yes, I still dream about my human husband. I have a firm assurance that God Himself gave me that desire. But I still have quite a while to wait for him. As I wait and pray for that future gift, I am praying even more that I will daily fall deeper in love with my true Husband, my Lord and Savior, my Jesus. 

For He is worth so much more!

 

In Christ Alone~EleyanaFaith

 

“O Lover of Thy people, Thou hast placed my whole being in the hands of Jesus, my Redeemer, Commander, Husband, Friend, and carest for me in him. Keep me holy, harmless, undefiled, separate from sinners; May I not know the voice of strangers, but go to him where he is, and follow where he leads.” ~ Puritan Prayer, Valley of Vision

Leave a Reply

