Lifting Holy Hands

Worship just gets into the soul of me. It sheds a brilliant, blazing light into my heart no matter how dark the surrounding circumstances might be.

God filled my heart with worship and I find no greater happiness and joy than this.

I find my peace on my knees, lifting hands of empty transparency.

Isn’t it interesting that in one of Paul’s letters to Timothy the acclaimed author states, “I desire that in every place the men should pray, lifting holy hands…” (1 Timothy 2:8)

A command to lift up your hands in praise?

I stumbled upon this a while ago in my studying and scribbled in my bible what the commentary said.

“From ancient times, upraised hands have revealed both praise and petition. The Hebrews used their hands to express both their dependence on God and their respect for him. Lifting their hands symbolized an expectant attitude and trust in God – that he would fill their empty hands with his blessings.” (Quest Study Bible)

These hands, like baskets, asking God to fill them with His absolute goodness. 

But first they have to be emptied of any earthly desire. Because sometimes we dare to reach up to the heavens hands that, at the same time, are reaching toward sin and the world. 

When I stand, or kneel, with my hands uplifted I’ll whisper a prayer up to the heavens, “God what I have now I don’t want anymore. Replace my sin and earthly gain with grace and love. Fill my hands with your blessing.

“I have nothing good to offer You, nothing worthy, but what I can give is yours.”

There is this phrase from a mighty hymn that fills my heart and it spills over; Here’s my heart Lord, take and seal it. Seal it for thy courts above. 

“Here’s my heart, Lord.” And I lift my cupped hands up.

And my uplifted hands declare, “I’m dependent on YOU.”

Three guitars strum a praise filled chorus in the background. The acoustic sound surrounding me and filling my head with the trustworthy chorus, “This is Amazing Grace. This is unfailing love.”

This is the glory of what God fills our empty hands with, restores our wanting hearts with.

How can we help but turn our glory filled goodness back into worship towards His wondrous throne.

“Worthy is the Lamb who was slain. Worthy is the King who conquers the grave.”

And I laugh in wonder as I watch my sister proclaim this with her strong God-gift of a voice.

 

 

In Christ Alone~EleyanaFaith

 

“Let us examine and probe our ways, And let us return to the LORD. We lift up our heart and hands Toward God in heaven…” (Lamentation 3:40-41)

“Behold, bless the LORD, all servants of the LORD, Who serve by night in the house of the LORD! Lift up your hands to the sanctuary And bless the LORD.” (Psalm 134:1-2)

So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary, beholding your power and glory. Because your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise you. So I will bless you as long as I live; in your name I will lift up my hands.” (Psalm 63:2-4)

Leave a Reply

