Jesus in the Room

Sunday brought a cold and overcast morning, with it – sickness. I woke up to find I was inflicted by not only sniffles, but a bit of a sore throat as well. For this reason, I made the choice to stay home from church. It was a blessed time of relaxing in an empty house, while having the beloved view of a rainy day outside the windows.

I had something of a thought to listen to a favorite song of mine on YouTube, but got distracted by a short video of advice from an awesome Spoken Word preacher (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q0p6lVdtGKI). This particular teaching had to do with not settling for a life of sin. He brought up a picture that stuck with me for the rest of the morning. When you are in the midst of sin, he said, just realize that Jesus is in the room with you; watching not out of judgment, but with eyes of grace and love and mercy.

After the video, I simply relaxed on the couch, listening to my personal Pandora station playing in the background. I cuddled up in a ball and reflected on the words of familiar Christian artists. Then, the picture returned to me… “Jesus is here in the room with me.”

No. I wasn’t dealing with any sin at the moment. I’m not even struggling with major sin issues during this season of my life. But, I’m still human. I am struggling and flailing in little ways.

I had this picture of Jesus standing above the couch, watching me with those eyes full of love and promise. I opened my eyes with the wishful hope that I could see him. No. His bodily form was not there, but I certainly knew His presence was in the room, whether or not I could feel or see it.

Another picture came to mind.

In Romans 8, Paul states that Jesus has gone to heaven to sit at God’s right hand and there he prays for us. Jesus Christ is interceding on our behalf.

I pictured Him coming up behind me and laying hands on my back, head bent in earnest prayer for me.

There is a jewel in Philippians 4 after Paul has stated that beloved verse, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” He closes the passage by saying, “My God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.”

God meets our needs, not according to our wishes or desires, but according to His riches in glory… His heavenly desires for us. We are caught up in worldly things within our short-term mindsets. God, however, has a mindset of eternity and He regards us in this light. He prays for us in this way… not the prayers we have for ourselves, but prayers from everlasting to everlasting.

Christ Jesus prays over us with an infinite love for infinite purposes.

We have the upward call of glory in our Lord Jesus Christ, and He is making petition for our knowledge in such things. That our mindset would be transformed into the likeness of the Son. That instead of praying for this thing and that thing we pray, “Your will be done, on earth as it is in Heaven.”

 

In Christ Alone~EleyanaFaith

 

One thought on “Jesus in the Room

  1. Anonymous says:

    😀

Leave a Reply

